Match-Fixing in BPL T20? Fans Allege Spot-Fixing After Krishmar Santokie Bowls Shady No-Ball and Wide During Chattogram Challengers vs Sylhet Thunder Game
Krishmar Santokie bowls a no-ball. (Photo Credits: Twitter)

In the opening match of the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League 2019-20 (BPL) West Indies fast-bowler, Krishmar Santokie bowled a no-ball and a wide in space of three deliveries. However, it was the nature of the two deliveries that has caught everyone’s attention. Santokie first bowled a massive wide and then a couple of balls later, he ended up bowing a long no-ball in the Chattogram Challengers vs Sylhet Thunder clash. Bangladesh Premier League 2019-20 Schedule in IST, Free PDF Download: BPL T20 Season 7 Full Timetable With Fixtures, Match Timings and Venue Details.

The sequence of the extras conceded by Santokie is now being discussed on social media. Fans are not holding back and have alleged that something was wrong with Santokie as he bowled shady wide and no-ball.

English journalist Barney Ronay took to Twitter and posted an image and video of Santokie’s poor bowling. He wrote, “BPL, thunder v challengers. Yeah, you’re close to the line there mate,” while sharing a picture of Santokie’s no-ball. Bangladesh Premier League 2019–20 Points Table: Latest Team Standings in BPL T20 Season 7.

Here's a look at Santokie's massive no-ball

In another tweet, Ronay wrote, “What were the odds of that happening!” He then posted a video of Santokie bowling a wide delivery and wrote, “This was the ball before that very unfortunate massive no-ball. An unfortunate massive wide.”

Santokie's weird wide

And then fans came up with what they felt. The Twitter users alleged that the Windies bowler was involved in “spot-fixing”

Money involved?

Is it that simple?


BPL T20 has been marred by fixing in the past. In 2012, spinner Shariful Haque was banned after he was found guilty of spot-fixing during the inaugural edition of the league. In March 2013, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) banned umpire Nadir Shah for ten years after he revealed the willingness to fix matches in a sting operation. Former Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful was also linked to match-fixing in the BPL.

The league is now into its seventh season. A total of seven teams, Chattogram Challengers, Cumilla Warriors, Jamuna Bank Dhaka Platoon, Premier Bank Khulna Tigers, Rajshahi Royals, Rangpur Rangers, and Sylhet Thunder, are participating in BPL T20.